8th Annual Alumni Meet

2009 Annual Alumni Meet

The Second Annual Meet of the Alumni of the Department of Library & Information Science, Sambalpur University will be held on 29th November 2009.

The last year (30th November 2008) Annual Alumni Meet’s inaugural Meeting started at 9.30 A.M. in the Conference Hall of the Department of Chemistry. About 75 alumni including the current students participated in it. The meeting started with a inaugural Song by the students of MLISc. The Welcome address was given by the Secretary, Alumni Association, Mr. B. Maharana, followed by a brief presentation of the achievements of the Department by the Coordinator of the Department of Library & Information Science, Dr. K. C. Panda. Honb’le Vice Chancellor of Sambalpur University Prof. A. K. Pujari felicitated the members of the Batch of Origin (Alumni of the pioneer batch 1976-77), Sri Sachidananda Sahari, Retd. Librarian of G. M. College, Sambalpur & Sri Sanyasi Charan Joshi, Manager of the Library Division, Rourkela Steel Plant. While addressing the audience, Prof. Pujari said that the Department is very prominent for its achievements. He advised the alumni to adopt the current practise of Librarianship with increased application of ICT. The Meeting was ended with Vite of Thanks by Sri R. K. Thaty, Librarian of the Central Library of Sambalpur University. At 11.00 A.M., the General Body Meeting of the alumni Association begun. All the members present there introduced themselves. Then the Election for the Office Bearers of the Alumni Association was held.